Introducing Discover Japan Facebook Page

30 Dec
View of Hachinohe City (八戸市) in Aomori

View of Hachinohe City (八戸市) in Aomori

We’re having beautiful days here in Aomori.  Over the weekend I took this photo in Hachinohe city, known for fresh seafood.  The city was more lively than usual with people preparing for the new year.

As the year comes to an end I finally finished doing something that has been on my mind for some time – creating a Discover Japan facebook page.  For a while I resisted the idea, because the last thing we need is to spend more time on facebook.  But I’ve changed my mind.  There have been many interesting comments and questions sent to me via emails, twitter, and my personal facebook account, and I think it will benefit us by consolidating them in one place.

So my hope is that the facebook page will provide you a platform to ask questions and share your thoughts and comments.  Also, I’ll be uploading more photos and informing you on upcoming events, such as the Autumn Haiku Contest.  If you’re interested in being a part of the community, click “Facebook Like Box” on the right side of the screen just below my photo.

Now I’m going to clean the house for oosouji (extensive cleaning), go get some soba for toshikoshi-soba (year end soba), and pack my bag before leaving for Tokyo.  This is the first time in 16 years I’ll be spending New Year in Japan, so it’ll be interesting.

By the way, oshōgatsu (Japanese New Year) lasts for a few days, and most businesses shut down from January 1 to January 3.  January 4  & 5 are weekend this year, so many of us are going to have a long holiday.  If you live in Japan, you may want to get your shopping done before the year is over.

Lastly, thank you for following this blog.  Wherever you are, I hope you’re having a restful holiday season.  Have a safe new year and see you in 2014!

2 Responses to “Introducing Discover Japan Facebook Page”

  1. daveh90 December 31, 2013 at 8:48 am #

    I hope you will be able to enjoy your new year safely! 2014 should be eventful. (^_^)

    • Yumi December 31, 2013 at 9:24 am #

      Thank you! Wishing you a happy new year!

Leave a Comment

むつ物語

Story of Mutsu  

Yumiko Sato Music Therapy

Journey Into Wholeness

Discover Japan

Explore the wonder of Japan: culture, history, language, scenary, art & music

