【Announcing Radio Drama】”Music Therapist”

23 Apr

Scprit5I’m  happy to announce that the NHK is making a radio drama called “Music Therapist,” based on my book, “Last Song~Melodies of Love and Hope at the End of Life.”

NHK is Japan’s national public broadcasting organization. The show will be aired on May 23.

“Last Song” tells the stories of my patients and their families I encountered while working at hospice in the U.S.  In it I attempted to capture the essence of music therapy – using music within the relationship between the therapist and the client.

Since any relationship is a two way street, it wasn’t just the lives of my clients that were affected through therapy; my life was often transformed through meeting them as well.

I’m humbled by the fact that the NHK has found my book interesting and the stories important enough to make it into a radio drama. An actress will play my part, but I’ll be singing in it.

Music therapy is not well known in Japan, and even those who have heard of it often don’t know that there is a profession called a “music therapist.”

I hope that this show will help increase awareness of music therapy in Japan and make it available to more people in the future.

script10

4 Responses to “【Announcing Radio Drama】”Music Therapist””

  1. Audrey Gilg April 25, 2015 at 6:38 am #

    Congratulations, Yumi sama! It’s exciting and encouraging to know that through your book and through the NBC drama, Japanese people will have a chance to learn about or deepen their understanding of musical therapy. Will your book be translated into English? If not, is there any chance that the Japanese edition can be purchased in the USA? I would definitely be interested in buying a copy (hoping that the Japanese is not too difficult!). I always look forward to reading your blogs. Wish I could meet you some day in person.

    • Yumi April 27, 2015 at 9:38 am #

      Thank you for your interest in my book, “Last Song.” Currently it is available only in Japanese, and I doubt that it can be purchased in the USA… However, you can order it from Amazon Japan. Hopefully one day the book will become available in English!

  2. Audrey Gilg April 25, 2015 at 6:44 am #

    Congratulations! It is exciting and encouraging to know that Japanese people will have a chance to learn more about music therapy through the NBC drama version of your book.

    • Yumi April 27, 2015 at 9:36 am #

      Thank you for your kind words, Audrey. By the way, it is NHK, not NBC.

Leave a Comment

むつ物語

Story of Mutsu  

Yumiko Sato Music Therapy

Journey Into Wholeness

Discover Japan

Explore the wonder of Japan: culture, history, language, scenary, art & music

