【New Book】Heart of the Dying

27 Dec

Heart of the Dying”

(POPLAR Publishing Co., Ltd.)

By Yumiko Sato

1/10/2017 (Release Date)

116_hyo1obi

I’m happy to announce that my second book “Heart of the Dying (Shi ni yuku hito ha nani o omounoka)” will be published in January, 2017 (The book is in Japanese).

Since returning to Japan three years ago I’ve met many people through my work as a hospice music therapist. What I’ve learned from them is that Japan faces unique challenges on end-of-life issues, and that one way to address them is helping families whose loved ones are dying.

I don’t know what he is thinking about any more.

I’m doing the best I can, but he is always angry at me!

It’s so hard to be with her, because there is nothing I can do.”

These are the words I often hear from them. Being with the dying is difficult, and losing our loved ones is one of the biggest crises we face in life.

In this book I examine the emotional and spiritual changes of the dying and how we can help them.  Over twenty case examples included in this book are the experiences of my former patients and families- some are Americans, some Japanese. They’ve taught me that death, dying, and loss are universal experiences through which we can grow. This book is dedicated to them.

 

3 Responses to “【New Book】Heart of the Dying”

  1. Mak December 28, 2016 at 9:04 am #

    Thank you!

  2. TonyJ2 December 28, 2016 at 8:58 pm #

    Well done on your continued important work in this space.

    • Yumi December 29, 2016 at 10:17 am #

      Thank you, Tony!

Leave a Comment

むつ物語

Story of Mutsu  

Yumiko Sato Music Therapy

Journey Into Wholeness

Discover Japan

Explore the wonder of Japan: culture, history, language, scenary, art & music

